Insurance Rating Information

Fire DistrictDistrict TypeRatingPrevious RatingRating Effective Date
Town of CarrboroMunicipal2301 August 2020
South Orange Fire DistrictRural4/9E5/9E01 August 2020

The Carrboro Fire-Rescue Department serves two fire districts, the Town of Carrboro Fire District and the South Orange Fire District. The North Carolina Office of the State Fire Marshal conducted a routine inspection of the department in December 2019. The inspection examines the department's staffing level, training, equipment and equipment maintenance, communications capabilities, water supply, and Community Risk Reduction efforts. The rating system ranges from one (highest) to 10 (lowest). Most rural fire departments have a rating of 9S.

The Carrboro Fire District is a municipal district encompassing all properties within the Town of Carrboro municipal boundary. The South Orange Fire District is an unincorporated area within Orange County, which surrounds the Town of Carrboro municipal boundary. The map below delineates the Town of Carrboro and South Orange Fire Districts. 

If you are unsure if your property is within the Town of Carrboro Fire District or the South Orange Fire District the county ARIES site is a useful resource. Visit, enter your address, and review the Public Safety tab on the left side of the screen. If you still have questions contact the fire department at (919) 918-7359 or via email at